Whether you want to learn a language through books and workbooks, listening to audio, watching a video, by computer or mobile device, or in a small group, we’ve got you covered. Need help? Please contact the Information Desk for help using our databases, downloading, or information about our programs.
#mango
Mango Languages
Mango Languages: Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. Available online through the library’s website or through an app on your mobile device.
#english
English Conversation & ESL
Practice your English conversation skills with other language learners in a warm and welcoming setting. This program is free and open to all. Virtual and in-person sessions are available. Registration is required for most. Groups are offered throughout the year. For intermediate and advanced speakers.
#kids
Especially for Kids
The library offers world language Story Times, Muzzy, a BBC online language program, plus TumbleBookLibrary, animated talking picture books in French and Spanish as well as a print collection for books and magazines. Kanopy Kids offers instructional videos, such as Muzzy, for learning a variety languages, including English.
#audio
Downloadable Audiobooks, eBooks, Magazines & Newspapers
Audiobooks: Explore Pimsleur Language Programs in multiple languages and levels in Overdrive/Libby. Also try Hoopla, which includes a selection of first level instruction from Pimsleur in over 30 languages.
Ebooks: The collections in Overdrive and Hoopla include dictionaries, phrasebooks, grammar workbooks, vocabulary, etc.
Magazines: Borrow unlimited titles in many languages from Princeton Overdrive website or the Libby app.
Newspapers: Access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers in English and their original languages plus the ability to translate many titles into 20 different languages, through PressReader.
A comprehensive list of materials in multiple languages in our print and digital collections can be found here.
Available online or through an app on your mobile device.
Print Collections
The Language Learning neighborhood, in the 2nd floor Reading Room, has grammar, conversation, and vocabulary workbooks, dictionaries, CDs, and phrasebooks for a variety of languages, including English. Popular reading materials in numerous languages can be found in the World Language collection on the 1st floor. Recently added is a collection of popular fiction and nonfiction titles in Hindi.
The children’s World Language collection includes chapter books, picture books in nine languages, and magazines in three.
Our adult print magazine collection includes magazines in Chinese, German and French, plus the World Journal (newspaper) in Chinese.
#videos
Videos & Film
Kanopy offers a collection of streaming instructional videos for language learners, including English, Spanish, French, and more. Documentaries and feature films are also available. Look under the subject heading “Global Studies & Languages/ESL & Languages” for the complete list.
Access Video On Demand offers a few language learning videos including sign language. There are also French and Spanish movies and a selection of Spanish television shows.
#world
World Cinema Collection
Do you enjoy learning about world cultures and language through international films? Check out the selections, from Arabic to Zulu, in our World Cinema DVD collection, located on the 1st floor of the library.
Streaming videos are available on Kanopy and Access Video on Demand.
#mobile
Mobile Apps
Learn on the go! Visit the library’s mobile apps page for links to the apps you need to enjoy our eLibrary selections.