Databases

A

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Abstracts and full text articles from thousands of academic and peer-reviewed publications.

Learn more Direct Access

Access Video On Demand

A web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7.  Funding made possible by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Learn more Direct Access

African-American History Online

Provides expansive and in-depth information on the people, events, and topics important to the study of African-American history.

Learn more Direct Access

American History Online

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.

Learn more Direct Access

American Indian History Online

Offers thorough access to more than 15,000 years of Native American people, culture, history, and heritage.

Learn more Direct Access

American Women’s History Online

Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women’s history in the United States.

Learn more Direct Access

Ancestry Library Edition

Genealogical and historical information from census, military, church, vital, court, land and probate records, passenger lists and more. (In-library use only.)

Learn more Direct Access

Ancient and Medieval History Online

Explores the pre-modern world with an in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and Asia.

Learn more Direct Access

B

BARD

Offered through the New Jersey State Library’s Talking Book and Braille Center, the Braille and Audio Reading Download (BARD) program provides audio and Braille materials to people of all ages who have difficulty reading standard print, holding a book, or turning the pages of a book due to blindness, a vision impairment, a physical impairment, a perceptual impairment, or a reading disability.

Learn more Direct Access

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality

A collection of primary source documents from slavery to contemporary society; features text from W.E.B. Du Bois to F.B.I. files, and other documents in-between from ProQuest.

Learn more Direct Access

Bloom’s Literature

Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.

Learn more Direct Access

Booklist Reader

Digital magazine highlighting diverse readers’ advisory recommendations for all ages.

Learn more Direct Access

BookPage

Packed with book reviews, feature articles, and author interviews, check out the online edition of this monthly newspaper designed to help you find your next great read.

Learn more Direct Access

Brainfuse

Brainfuse provides skills-building for all ages and levels via lessons, practice tests, writing assistance and live one-on-one academic coaching to help you achieve your learning and career goals. Funded through the generosity of Princeton University.

Learn more Direct Access

Business.NJ.gov

One-stop for the information you need to do business in New Jersey.

Learn more Direct Access

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

The industry’s most popular business research database, featuring the full text for more than 2,200 journals. Full text is provided back to 1965, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

Learn more Direct Access

C

Climate Signals

Explore how climate change affects your world by searching events, impacts, and related climate signals. This freely accessible database is a science information project of Climate Nexus, a nonprofit organization.

Learn more Direct Access

Comics Plus

Comics Plus offers access to thousands of comics, graphic novels and manga from major publishers for kids, teens and adults, available for unlimited, simultaneous use.

Learn more Direct Access

Consumer Guides (Weiss)

Easy-to-use tools to help patrons navigate through nine important areas, including health savings accounts, long-term care insurance, Medicare prescription drug coverage, term life, homeowners, automobile, and Medicare supplement insurance, and variable annuities.

Learn more Direct Access

Consumer Reports

Access full-text articles from this perennially popular consumer review publication, via MasterFILE Complete. Find ratings on hundreds of products, from dishwashers to automobiles.

Learn more Direct Access

Coronavirus Research Database

Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database from ProQuest, curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

Learn more Direct Access

COVID-19 U.S. State Policy (CUSP)

This database documents the dates all 50 states and the District of Columbia implemented health and social policies to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic and its economic ramifications. Led by researchers at Boston University School of Public Health and Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, with support from Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Evidence to Action program.

Learn more Direct Access

Creativebug

Creativebug offers 1000+ online art and craft classes with access to downloadable patterns, templates, and recipes.

Learn more Direct Access

Curriculum Resource Center

Provides a library of printable teacher-handout material for the middle school, high school, and junior college curriculum.

Learn more Direct Access

D

DailyMed

Contains labeling information, submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for prescription and non prescription drugs for human and animal use.

Learn more Direct Access

Driving Tests

Practice tests based on New Jersey Department of Motor Vehicles materials.

Learn more Direct Access

E

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos es una enciclopedia intermedia en español que forma parte del Centro de Referencia en Línea World Book. Los artículos abarcan todas las disciplinas e incluyen imágenes, información gráfica y enlaces a sitios web relacionados.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is an intermediate Spanish language encyclopedia that is part of World Book Online Reference Center. Articles cover all disciplines and include images, graphical information, and related website links.

Learn more Direct Access

Engage Princeton

Created by the Princeton Public Library, this community resource directory of Princeton boards, commissions, and local nonprofits can be used to search for volunteer opportunities.

Learn more Direct Access

ERIC (EBSCO)

The acronym for the Educational Resource Information Center which provides access to education literature and resources.

Learn more Direct Access

F

Facts on File

Reference database in science, history, literature, geography, health, and career guidance, plus a curriculum resource center for grades K-5 and 6-12.

Learn more Direct Access

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center

Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, more than 48,000 resource entries, and much more.

Learn more Direct Access

Financial Literacy Basics (Weiss Ratings & Grey House Publishing)

Eight full-text volumes outlining how to make the most of your money. Topics include Managing Debt, Auto & Renters Insurance, Checking Accounts, 401Ks, Student Loans, How to Make and Stick to a Budget, and Understanding Health Insurance Plans.

Learn more Direct Access

Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry

Convenient access to U.S. military records, including the stories, photos, and documents of the men and women who served.

Learn more Direct Access

Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)

Includes over 25,000 encyclopedic entries for grades 5-8.

Learn more Direct Access

G

GreenFILE

Provides information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment in a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Some titles are full text, the rest are abstracts only.

Learn more Direct Access

Grove Dictionary of American Music

Search the largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American music, with over 9000 entries.

Learn more Direct Access

Grove Encyclopedia of American Art

Search this comprehensive and current reference resource for information about all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.

Learn more Direct Access

H

Health Reference Center

Provides clear and comprehensive information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.

Learn more Direct Access

Health Source: Academic/Nursing Edition (EBSCO)

A trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Learn more Direct Access

Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)

This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full-text current health pamphlets.

Learn more Direct Access

HeritageQuest

A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids, with coverage dating back to the 1700s.

Learn more Direct Access

Hiveclass

Hiveclass is the Digital Encyclopedia for youth sports training, a platform that makes it easy for families to access high quality, educational videos in various sports and activities.

Learn more Direct Access

Hoopla

Hoopla provides immediate access to thousands of ebooks, audiobooks, comics and music albums.

Learn more Direct Access

I

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)

A database providing in-depth investigations of today’s top issues. Updated weekly, more than 800 hot-topics in business, politics, education, and pop culture are covered.

Learn more Direct Access

J

JobNow

JobNow, powered by BrainFuse, provides live interactive online help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job.

Learn more Direct Access

JSTOR

Full-text coverage of core scholarly journals in various subjects, many from the first issue up to 3 to 5 years ago.

Learn more Direct Access

K

Kanopy

This video streaming service offers a broad selection of quality documentaries, feature films, and training videos from major producers. Made possible with support from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Learn more Direct Access

Kanopy Kids

Kanopy Kids offers unlimited viewing of movies and TV, including story times, educational, language learning, and more with a focus on ages 2-8.jhkhkj

Learn more Direct Access

L

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO)

Provides exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books (including the popular NOLO series), hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis.

Learn more Direct Access

Libby

Libby is the reading app to access the Princeton Overdrive collection on phone or mobile device.  For complete information about this elibrary option, see Princeton Overdrive (Libby).

Learn more Direct Access

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)

An index to more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports, and proceedings on librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more, extending back as far as the mid-1960s.

Learn more Direct Access

LinkedIn Learning

With this online education platform, you have access to high-quality & engaging video tutorials, taught by recognized industry experts on thousands of courses. LinkedIn Learning is made possible by a generous gift from Princeton University.

Learn more Direct Access

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)

Full text from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources. Includes all MagillOnLiterature Plus content.

Learn more Direct Access

Local Newspaper Index

Searchable database with citations to selected content from two local newspapers, Princeton Packet and Town Topics.

Learn more Direct Access

M

Mango

Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication through fun and engaging interactive lessons, making learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective.

Learn more Direct Access

MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO)

This database provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents.

Learn more Direct Access

MedlinePlus

MedlinePlus, produced by the National Library of Medicine, offers free access to reliable, up-to-date health information.

Learn more Direct Access

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)

Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines, full text articles, biographies, historical essays, primary documents, and an image collection.

Learn more Direct Access

Military and Government Collection (EBSCO)

Provides cover-to-cover full text, indexing, and abstracts for hundreds of journals and periodicals. Many full-text titles are available in searchable PDF or scanned-in-color.

Learn more Direct Access

Modern World History Online

Covers the people, places, and events in a broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.

Learn more Direct Access

Muzzy Language Learning

MUZZY is an award-winning BBC Online Language Program for children from beginners to early intermediate language learners. Learn to speak Spanish, Latin-American Spanish, French, German, Italian, Chinese (Pinyin), Korean (RR) and English.

Learn more Direct Access

N

New Jersey Career Connections

Create resumes, enhance existing resumes; gain tools that can increase your visibility to employers; access real-time job openings; do active or automatic job searches. Formerly Jobs4Jersey.

Learn more Direct Access

New Jersey Courts Self-Help Center

The New Jersey Judiciary hosts self-help resources for the legal needs of the New Jersey community, including a forms catalog, instructions for participants in remote court events, information about representing yourself in court, divorce, and more.

Learn more Direct Access

New Jersey Small Business Help

Sponsored by the U.S. Small Business Administration, the New Jersey Business Action Center and the Rutgers Business School, this network provides comprehensive assistance to small and medium businesses to maximize opportunities for growth and generate economic impact statewide.

Learn more Direct Access

New York Times

Get the latest coverage of business, politics, news of the world, entertainment, arts, sports and more.

Learn more Direct Access

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)

Provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Learn more Direct Access

Northstar Digital Literacy Assessment

Test yourself and learn new digital literacy skills with self-guided modules featuring essential computer and software skills. Instructors will find unit projects, lesson plans and have the ability to track student progress. All materials available in English and Latin American Spanish.

Learn more Direct Access

NoveList K-8 Plus (EBSCO)

Provides subject heading access, reviews, and annotations for fiction and nonfiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles that are appropriate for classroom use.

Learn more Direct Access

NoveList Plus (EBSCO)

A reader’s advisory database that provides subject heading access, reviews and annotations for both fiction titles and nonfiction titles; and custom created articles and lists, including readalikes and book discussion questions.

Learn more Direct Access

O

Opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States

This website features “slip” opinions. A “slip” opinion consists of the majority or principal opinion, any concurring or dissenting opinions written by the Justices, and a prefatory syllabus prepared by the Reporter’s Office that summarizes the decision.

Learn more Direct Access

Oxford English Dictionary

The OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words – past and present – from across the English-speaking world.

Learn more Direct Access

P

Papers of Princeton

A digitized collection of historical periodicals from the town of Princeton and Princeton University.  A joint project with Princeton University, The Historical Society of Princeton and the Princeton Public Library, new titles and dates will continue to be added in the future.

 

Learn more Direct Access

Peterson’s Test and Career Prep

Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more.

Learn more Direct Access

Points of View (EBSCO)

Designed to assist students and researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects, this resource includes essays, questions, and thousands of supporting articles.

Learn more Direct Access

Prescribers’ Digital Reference

Use this resource to locate drug summaries, alerts, recalls, and approvals.

Learn more Direct Access

PressReader

PressReader provides access to hundreds of newspapers from around the world in multiple languages, including the ability to translate many titles in up to 20 different languages. Featured newspapers include regional favorites The New York Times, New York Daily News and The Philadelphia Inquirer. Also includes The Economist, with 24 hour checkouts for individual issues.

Learn more Direct Access

Primary Search (EBSCO)

Full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school age children. Includes popular children’s magazines, ebooks, and encyclopedia entries written specifically for children.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton Overdrive Kids Room

The Princeton Overdrive Kids Room is dedicated to e-reading materials curated specifically for ages 0-12.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton OverDrive (Libby)

The Princeton Overdrive collection is a library curated collection of eBooks, downloadable audiobooks and digital magazines with a focus on quality selections that meet the diverse reading and listening preferences of the Princeton Community. Access this collection on your computer or mobile device using the Libby App.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton OverDrive (Libby) Magazines

The digital magazine collection has approximately 3000 titles, in a wide variety of genres and world languages, for adults and children, including popular titles such as “The New Yorker,” available anytime for reading on your computer or downloading to a mobile device using the Libby app.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton Overdrive Teens Room

The Princeton Overdrive Teens Room is dedicated to eReading materials curated specifically for teens.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton Packet Archives & Index

See Specifics section of the full entry to explore all options for viewing historical and more recent issues of the Packet and its predecessors. Currently, there is no single digital source for accessing all back issues of the Packet.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton Public Library Print Newspaper Collection

Online catalog listing for all print newspaper subscriptions at the library.

Learn more Direct Access

Princeton Public Library Print Magazine Collection

Online catalog listing for all print magazine subscriptions at the library. Includes titles found in the Newsroom, plus those in the Children’s and Teens collections on the 3rd floor.

Learn more Direct Access

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies (1849 – 2019)

Historical full-text coverage from Chicago Tribune (1849 – 1997), Los Angeles Times (1881 – 1996), The New York Times with Index (1851 – 2019), The Wall Street Journal (1889 – 2003), and The Washington Post (1877 – 2007).

Learn more Direct Access

R

Reference Solutions by Data Axle (formerly Reference USA)

Directory information on millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses and residences. Search and compare companies by category, size, and geographic location. Search residences by name, location, and phone number. Explore job listings and career resources. Please visit JerseyClicks to access this database remotely.

Learn more Direct Access

Referencia Latina (EBSCO)

A Spanish language database including encyclopedia entries, images, reports, a Spanish-English dictionary, reference books, and general interest magazines.

Learn more Direct Access

Regional Business News (EBSCO)

Full-text articles from 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.

Learn more Direct Access

S

Science Online

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Learn more Direct Access

Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)

Features a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding.

Learn more Direct Access

T

Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Learn more Direct Access

Today’s Science (Facts on File)

Science news written especially for students that links what is learned in the classroom with today’s real world science discoveries.

Learn more Direct Access

Town Topics Archives & Index

See Specifics section of the full entry to explore all options for viewing historical and more recent issues of Town Topics. Currently, there is no single digital source for accessing all back issues of the Town Topics.

 

Learn more Direct Access

TumbleBook Library

TumbleBookLibrary provides unlimited and unrestricted access to a collection of TumbleBooks, read-alongs, and activities. Titles in Spanish and French are included.

Learn more Direct Access

U

U.S. Consumer/Lifestyles

Use this database of over 203 million U.S. consumers to conduct market research. Please note this is included in the list of resources within Reference Solutions by Data Axle, formerly Reference USA.

Learn more Direct Access

V

ValChoice

A consumer data analytics company and insurance industry watchdog which offers financial literacy tools to help consumers navigate the insurance landscape.

Learn more Direct Access

Value Line Investment Survey Online

Equivalent to the Standard and Small & Mid Cap Print Editions combined, Value Line Institutional Investment Survey covers approximately 3,500 Large through Small & Mid Cap Equities vs. the approximately 1,700 Stocks Covered in the Standard Print Edition alone.

Learn more Direct Access

W

Wall Street Journal

Get the latest coverage of business, politics, entertainment, sports and more with access to the Wall Street Journal online.

Learn more Direct Access

World Almanac for Kids Online

Provides resources for homework, reports, and projects in a fun format while encouraging online research skills. Contains biographical, career, history, science, and readers’ advisory resources.

Learn more Direct Access

World Book Online Reference Center

Online encyclopedia of articles, selected web links, animations, and interactive maps, plus Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos – an intermediate Spanish language encyclopedia.

Learn more Direct Access

World Book Spanish

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is an intermediate Spanish language encyclopedia that is part of World Book Online Reference Center. Articles cover all disciplines and include images, graphical information, and related website links.

Learn more Direct Access

World Geography and Culture

This comprehensive resource makes it easy to study all aspects of a country—from its geography and physical features to its government, people, and society—providing both facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.

Learn more Direct Access

World News Digest (Facts on File)

This archival record of domestic and international news is updated weekly and covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940.

Learn more Direct Access

World Religions Online

Explores religion and spirituality in an unbiased manner, from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the rituals of today.

Learn more Direct Access
Scroll to Top