Knit for Others 2023 has ended
Our 14th season of Knit for Others has finished. Thanks to the generosity and talents of many local volunteer knitters and crocheters, we had a banner year with nearly 550 items donated. These will be distributed to area locations this winter.
To prepare for next year’s program, please follow these guidelines.
Based on feedback from our community partners about items they need most, this year we are only going to be accepting hats, traditional wrap-around-the-neck scarves, mittens/handwarmers, afghans and sweaters.
- Hats should be in sizes for child through adult. We don’t get many requests for tiny preemie hats or small baby hats so please consider making hats in larger sizes. There is always a need for hats for men so ones in dark colors are always appreciated.
- Mittens of all sizes are welcome but especially sizes for preschoolers, ages 2-6.
- Scarves should be 6-8 inches wide and at least 6 feet long. Fringe is optional. Traditional styles that wrap and tie around the neck are preferred.
You can use either wool or acrylic yarns and a pattern of your choosing. For new pattern ideas, see the Resources section below for simple patterns for mittens and hats from the library’s print collections (books and magazines), titles found in our eLibrary collections in Princeton Overdrive/Libby and hoopla or links to free patterns found online.
If you have questions, please email refstaff@princetonlibrary.org.
At this time, we are not accepting yarn donations.
To learn more about the history of Knit for Others, see below.
Worldwide Knit in Public Day
Date: Early June 2024
Location: TBD
Each June, on Worldwide Knit in Public day, the library hosts a mid-day gathering of yarn enthusiasts for a few hours of crafting together. In June of 2023, we partnered with Princeton Makes at the Princeton Shopping Center. Check back in May 2024 to see what has been planned for June. To learn more about Worldwide Knit in Public Day in general, check out their website.
History of Knit for Others
The story of PPL’s Knit for Others began in the fall of 2010 as the library was preparing for its 100th birthday. Executive Director Leslie Burger challenged her staff to think of creative and engaging projects that had something to do with the number 100. Since there were many knitters on staff, including the director, librarian Gayle Stratton had the idea to collect 100 hand-knitted hats to donate. Time was tight, the plea to knitters went out, the clothesline at the Welcome Desk went up and the hats came pouring in immediately. We more than met our challenge with a total of 201 hats which were donated to TASK, the Trenton Area Soup Kitchen.
Knit for Others became an annual event, made possible by the many creative and generous customers who donate approximately 200 items each year to temporarily adorn our clothesline. These are then shared with local organizations for distribution in early January.
Resources
Print Book Collection
The library’s collection of knitting, crochet, and other needlework books can be found in the Home neighborhood on the second floor. Included are learn-to knit-books, ones for knitting hats, scarves, socks, sweaters for all ages, accessories for the home, toys and knits for pets. There are also instruction books for specific techniques such as cables or fair isle. All are listed in the online catalog and can be searched by author, title, subject and keyword.
Here are a few highlights, especially good for Knit for Others projects:
eBook Collection
The library’s eBook collection, found in Princeton Overdrive/Libby or hoopla, has a vast collection of recent and classic books to read on your computer, or download the mobile apps for reading on your device.
In Princeton Overdrive/Libby: Search the subject “crafts” to find titles such as “Sock Yarn One-Skein Wonders,” “More Last Minute Knitted Gifts,” “Cast on Bind Off” and “Knitting Stitches Visual Encyclopedia.”
In hoopla: Use the Advanced Search feature and type in “knitting” to find gems such as “Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitters Almanac” and newer titles such as “Knitted Animal Friends,” “We are Knitters” and “Loopy Mango Knitting,” plus books for beginning knitting such as “Knit a Hat, a Beginner’s Guide to Knitting.” You will also find knitting patterns for babies, adults, the home, toys, dogs, etc. in the over 100 titles included in this collection. All are available for immediate checkout and download.
You need to have a Princeton Public Library card to access our digital collections. If you are unable to get a card, check with your local public library to see what eBook services they offer.
Magazine Collection – Print and Digital
The library has a print subscription to “Interweave Knits” and “Piecework.” Back issues of print magazines may be borrowed for three weeks. These are located in the Newsroom on the second floor.
Many more titles are available through the Princeton Overdrive’s digital magazine collection. The easiest way to find the knitting/crochet/craft magazines is to search for the subject “crafts”. Find titles such as “Interweave Knits,” “Simply Crochet, ” “Simply Knitting,” “The Knitter” and more. The digital magazines include the most recent issue as well as two years of back issues. Magazine issues check out for up to 21 days, no due dates, no fines or fees of any kind and no limit to the number you can check out at one time. Read on your computer or download the Libby app for reading on your mobile device. Titles in the Overdrive/Libby collection can also be found in the library’s online catalog.
Online Courses
Creativebug, a crafting database, offers 1000+ online art and craft classes. You can watch the instructor-led classes on your own time, at your own pace. Access downloadable patterns for a variety of knitting or crochet projects. This database is only available to Princeton Public Library cardholders.
Other Pattern Resources
There are thousands of free patterns available on the websites of yarn companies, knitting stores, knitters, bloggers, Instagram, Pinterest, Ravelry, Facebook groups, etc. Tutorials can also be found on yarn company or store websites and also on YouTube. Some favorite patterns are:
Mittens:
- World’s Simplest Mittens from Tin Can Knits
- No Swatch No Gauge Mittens
- Red Heart Mittens for All
- Martha Stewart How to Knit Mittens with Leftover Yarn