Job Skills and Careers: A Resource Guide

#about

About the Guide

Whether you’re looking for a new job, seeking a career change, nearing graduation, or need to gain or update skills, this guide has resources that can help. You’ll also find networking opportunities and resources for starting or growing a business. If you need assistance using the databases or navigating internet resources, please contact us at the second floor Information Desk or by phone, chat or email. We’re happy to help.

Get started

• Check out our Getting Started Guide for job seekers.
• Check out our First Steps Guide for starting a business.

#resume

Resume Writing

Access databases within the library or from home with your library card.

• JobNow from Brainfuse: Resume review and live resume help are available daily.
• Peterson’s Test and Career Prep: Search for jobs and create visually interesting résumés, cover letters, and websites that can be externally shared with prospective employers, using prebuilt templates.
• Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center: Find career skill advice on creating resumes and more.
• Consult the resume writing books in the Job Seekers booklist and in the Business and Career neighborhood on the 2nd floor.

#events

Events, Networking & Webinars

Visit our Events Calendar for the complete listing of our free programs for job seekers. An archive of our business programming is available on YouTube.

• PSG of Mercer County: The Professional Services Group of Mercer County offers Friday morning presentations with a guest speaker and networking opportunities. Topics vary. An archive of past sessions is also available.
• SCORE Princeton: Interested in starting your own business? Through SCORE, local business mentors are available to meet to discuss your ideas. Visit the website to set up an appointment. SCORE also hosts programs with the library.
• NJ State Library: Find a schedule of upcoming webinars, with topics including resume tips and retirement strategies.
• New Jersey Small Business Development Centers: Access recorded and upcoming webinars from NJSBDC, sponsored by Rutgers, the New Jersey Business Action Center, and the U.S. Small Business Administration.

#online

Online Courses

Access databases within the library or from home with your library card.

• Brainfuse: Build your Microsoft Office skills through the Brainfuse Adult Learning Center.
• LinkedIn Learning: (Formerly Lynda.com) Through video tutorials, develop new skills and update old ones such as Word, PowerPoint, and Excel. Learn Google Drive, Mac essentials, Outlook, LinkedIn and more. Classes are available in English, French, German, Japanese, Spanish, Mandarin, and Portuguese.
• Language Learning: Use library databases to brush up on or learn a new language.
• Peterson’s Test and Career Prep: Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more.
• SkillUp NJ: Offered through the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development. New Jersey workers – whether or not they are currently unemployed – can now access more than 5,000 free online Skillsoft courses in a variety of high-demand industry sectors.
• Goodwill Community Foundation: Build job seeking, technology, and other core skills. Some multilingual courses are available.
• Grow with Google: Build your skills with Google products via tutorials or webinars.

#research

Research a Company or Career

Use these databases to search for information about specific companies. Access is available within the library or from home with your library card.

• Reference Solutions by Data Axle (formerly Reference USA): Includes US and Canadian businesses. Search by name, SIC code, keyword, industry, size, geographic location, etc. to create lists of similar businesses. Please visit JerseyClicks to access this database remotely.
• Value Line Investment Survey: Search company data, stock information, and much more.
• Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center: Great for detailed profiles of more than 3000 jobs and 90+ industries, career skill advice and more.
• Peterson’s Test and Career Prep: Prepare for standardized tests with eBooks, online courses, and full-length practice tests for GED, SAT, ACT, AP, PSAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, TOEFL, U.S. citizenship, and more. Research undergraduate and graduate programs, finding tuition assistance, and exploring and preparing for careers whether you’re entering the workforce for the first time or searching for new opportunities. A variety of interactive methods prompt personalized career recommendations and insight on programs, knowledge, skills, and ability. Search for jobs and create visually interesting résumés, cover letters, and websites that can be externally shared with prospective employers, using prebuilt templates.
• Occupational Outlook Handbook: From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Search here for a wide variety of career information including the most popular careers, industry outlooks, and salary guides. Also available in print in the Reference neighborhood on the 2nd floor.
• New Jersey Career Connections: New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce’s website for job seekers. Create resumes, enhance existing resumes, access real-time job openings, and receive job search and training assistance through the One-Stop Career Centers.
• Career One Stop: From the US Dept. of Labor. Of particular interest are the sections focusing on salaries and trending professions.

#databases

Business News and Reference

Access databases within the library or from home with your library card.

• Access Video on Demand:  Use the keywords “resumes,” “career planning,” and “employment” to find job-related films.
• Business Source Complete: Provides full text articles from more than 2,200 journals.
• Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO): Provides exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms.
• PressReader: Enjoy digital access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, plus the magazine, “The Economist,” available for reading on your computer or mobile device using the PressReader app. The collection includes domestic and international newspapers in English as well as newspapers in approximately 60 different languages plus the ability to translate many titles in up to 20 different languages. For more information on accessing this collection, visit the Magazines and Newspapers page on our website.
• Regional Business News: Provides full text articles from 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires.
• Value Line Investment Survey: Search company data, stock information, and much more.
• Wall Street Journal: Get the latest coverage of business, politics, entertainment, sports and more with access to the Wall Street Journal online. For remote access, PPL cardholders can contact the 2nd-floor Information Desk.

#technology

Technology Services

• Printing and photocopying, both black & white and color, plus scanning and saving via email and flash drive are available in our Business Center.
• Customers can send faxes from from our scan stations for free. 
• Computers, PCs and iMacs, are available for public use.
• Access professional software within the library.
• Click here for a complete list of services, printing fees, available software and more.