Hello spring!


Is there any time of the year that’s better than spring? Flowers are blooming, the weather is finally warm and it feels as if the entire world is smiling. One of my favorite authors said it best: “When spring came, even the false spring, there were no problems except where to be happiest.” And me? Well, I’m never happier than when I’m sitting under the sun with a good book in my hand. Here are some great books to flourish the soul, blossom the mind and give you that “spring smile”…

Fiction:

Women Talking” by Miriam Toews: Based on real events and, according to Margaret Atwood, “could be right out of The Handmaid’s Tale!”

Spring: A Novel” by Ali Smith: The next installment in Smith’s “Seasonal Quartet,” this book is not to be missed.

Gingerbread” by Helen Oyeyemi: In this whimsical and tantalizing tale about family, Oyeyemi’s prose is simply breathtaking.

Daisy Jones & The Six” by Taylor Jenkins Reid: A captivating book about complex characters who seemed perfect to their fans, but were broken and reckless souls who only had one true love: rock n’ roll.

The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna” by Juliet Grames: A novel about sibling estrangement and the discovery of family secrets and drama, with little superstition thrown in for good measure.

Nonfiction:

K: A History of Baseball in Ten Pitches” by Tyler Kepner: Is there any word the exemplifies spring more than baseball? In this book, Kepner explores the details and history of America’s Pastime.
The Martha Manual: How to Do (Almost) Everything” by Martha Stewart: From party planning to home improvement projects, this book is Martha’s guide to (almost) everything.
The Lady From the Black Lagoon” by Mallory O’Meara: The biography of Milicent Patrick, the brilliant designer of the monster in The Creature From the Black Lagoon and a woman who has been overlooked by Hollywood and history.
Maid” by Stephanie Land: The story of a maid working to get herself and her family out of poverty, this book is great for fans of “Evicted” and “Nickel and Dimed.”
Inheritance” by Dani Shapiro: A wonderful memoir about the exploration of who we are through genealogy, love and family secrets.

For more spring reads, check out the book list on our website!


Back to the Blog
Posted in Uncategorized

Subscribe