from the archive


Tag: databases


Using PPL databases: JSTOR


The library has access to so many databases that it can be hard to start using even one. In this series I’d like to introduce a few of the popular and interesting databases to which the library subscribes. To begin, I’ll show you my own personal favorite, the historical research database, JSTOR.


An English major’s dream


In a world where STEM dominates the education landscape from PreK through college, the English major is sometimes viewed as a quaint anachronism. Back in a less STEM-crazed time, I was an English major, which meant I spent a lot of time in libraries searching the card catalog and periodical index — yes, I am old — for insights into the great works of literature we read and attempted to discuss. 


Experience the library without leaving home


There's no question that the Princeton Public Library is a wonderful place to visit. From its striking architecture to the wonderful collections and smiling faces of staff members, PPL is a destination for residents and nonresidents alike. If getting to the library is inconvenient, though, never fear! There are a wide array of resources and services you can access without ever setting foot out your front door.


Goodbye Ravi


Famed sitar player and music legend Ravi Shankar passed away this week at the grand old age of 92. Dubbed "The Godfather of World Music" by ex-Beatle and longtime friend George Harrison, Shankar was an unlikely international music star whose sitar playing introduced millions to the beautiful ragas (melodies) and talas (rhythms) of Indian music.


Free music from Freegal


Did you know that Princeton Public Library has a database with thousands of songs that can be downloaded for free? Well, the rumors are true.The database is called Freegal Music and it allows any PPL card holder to download up to three songs a week for free.

Subscribe