Board of Trustees

The Princeton Public Library is governed by an independent Board of Trustees as stipulated in the New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 40, Chapter 54, Libraries and Reading Rooms.

The Board consists of nine members: seven appointed by the mayor of Princeton and two members designated by statute: the mayor of Princeton and the Superintendent of the Princeton Public Schools or their designees. Appointed Board members serve five-year terms, statutory appointments are one-year terms.

Role of the Board

The Board of Trustees is the legally designated governing board for the Princeton Public Library responsible for the overall welfare of the library and the customers it serves.  The Board’s responsibilities are defined by New Jersey State Statute and include establishment of library policies, fiduciary oversight, and hiring the library’s executive director.

Library Trustees 2019

Liz Lempert, Mayor Andrew Erlichson
Pamela Wakefield, President Audrey Gould
Ruth Miller, Vice President Jennifer Jang
Barak Bar-Cohen, Treasurer Yamile Slebi
Robert Ginsberg, PPS Designee

The Board invites teen liaisons to attend its meetings. Interested teens complete an application and are selected on a competitive basis. The teen liaisons attend all public portions of the meetings and participate in the discussion.


The Board approved the library’s Bylaws at the April 19, 2016 meeting.

Library Policies and Procedures: Policy and Procedures Manual

Meeting Schedule and Board Minutes

Board meetings are held at the Princeton Public Library on the third Wednesday of the month at 7 p.m. The Board of Trustees complies with the requirements of the State of New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act. Members of the public and press are invited to attend.

2019 Meetings

January 16 – minutes July 17
February 20 (cancelled due to weather) August 21
February 25 (Emergency Meeting) – minutes September 18
February 27 (Special Meeting) – minutes October 16
March 20 November 20
April 17 December 18
May 15

2018 Meetings

January 17 – minutes July 17* – minutes
February 21, 6 p.m. – minutes August – No meeting scheduled
March 28 (rescheduled from March 21) – minutes September 5* – minutes
April 11* – minutes October 17 – minutes
May 16 – minutes November 14* – minutes
June 13* – minutes December 19 – minutes

Minutes of prior meetings are available in the library’s Administration Office. Contact Karen Rackley, 609.924.9529, ext. 1250, or

OPRA Request Form