Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Author Sloane Crosley: “Look Alive Out There”

Tuesday, April 2, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

The New York Times-bestselling author discusses her third collection of personal essays. Fans of “I Was Told There’d Be Cake” and “How Did You Get This Number” know Crosley’s life as a series of relatable but madcap misadventures. In this collection, whether it’s scaling active volcanoes, crashing shivas or squinting down the barrel of the fertility gun, Crosley continues to rise to the occasion with unmatchable nerve and electric one-liners. And as her subjects become more serious, her essays deliver not just laughs but lasting emotional heft and insight.

Crosley served as editor of  “The Best American Travel Writing” series and is featured in The Library of America’s 50 Funniest American Writers.”  Her work has appeared in Esquire, Elle, GQ, Vogue, The New York Times Magazine, The New York Times Book Review, The Guardian, New York Magazine, The Believer, Vice and on National Public Radio.  Crosley was the inaugural columnist for The New York Times Op-Ed “Townies” series, a contributing editor at Interview Magazine, and a columnist for The Village Voice and The New York Observer. She is a contributing editor at Vanity Fair and was a 2018 Yaddo fellow. In 2011, Crosley created sadstuffonthestreet.com. The “Sad Stuff on the Street” book was published in partnership with Todd Oldham, with 100 percent of proceeds going to the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). She lives in Manhattan.

Crosley’s talk will be followed by a book signing.

Co-sponsored by the library and Labyrinth Books.

Details

Date:
Tuesday, April 2
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Community Room – First Floor
65 Witherspoon Street
Princeton, NJ 08542 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
609-924-9529

Other

In-House Program Category
Author
Staff Contact
Janie Hermann
Setup Required
Yes
Summary
The New York Times-bestselling author discusses her third collection of personal essays. Fans of "I Was Told There’d Be Cake" and "How Did You Get This Number" know Crosley’s life as a series of relatable but madcap misadventures. In this collection, whether it’s scaling active volcanoes, crashing shivas or squinting down the barrel of the fertility gun, Crosley continues to rise to the occasion with unmatchable nerve and electric one-liners. And as her subjects become more serious, her essays deliver not just laughs but lasting emotional heft and insight.
Informational Website
https://us.macmillan.com/books/9780374279844
Series
None
Platforms for Promotion
Connections
Promotional Materials
Handbill (5.5 x 8.5)
Max Number of Attendees
155
Age Groups
Adult, Teens
Status of Post
P - Ready for M to Edit