20210922 BOT Meeting Notice

Board of Trustees

The Princeton Public Library is governed by an independent Board of Trustees as stipulated in the New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 40, Chapter 54, Libraries and Reading Rooms.

The Board consists of nine members: seven appointed by the mayor of Princeton and two members designated by statute: the mayor of Princeton and the Superintendent of the Princeton Public Schools or their designees. Appointed Board members serve five-year terms, statutory appointments are one-year terms.

Role of the Board

The Board of Trustees is the legally designated governing board for the Princeton Public Library responsible for the overall welfare of the library and the customers it serves.  The Board’s responsibilities are defined by New Jersey State Statute and include establishment of library policies, fiduciary oversight, and hiring the library’s executive director.

Library Trustees 2021

Ruth Miller, President Edward Felten
Barak Bar-Cohen, Treasurer Edwina Hawes
Robert Ginsberg, PPS Designee Yamile Slebi
Eve Niedergang, Mayor’s Designee Christopher Van Buren
Pamela Wakefield



The Board approved the library’s Bylaws at the September 15, 2018 meeting.

Library Policies and Procedures: Policy and Procedures Manual

Meeting Schedule and Board Minutes

Board meetings are held on the third Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m., unless otherwise noticed. The Board of Trustees complies with the requirements of the State of New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act. Members of the public and press are invited to attend.

Due to the state of emergency in New Jersey regarding COVID-19 and pursuant to A-3850/S-2294 (Approved P.L.2020, c.11., 3/20/2020), Princeton Public Library board meetings will be conducted by electronic means.

Remote Meeting Access and Public Comments for regularly scheduled meetings.

2021 Meetings

January 20 – notice | agenda | minutes July 21 – notice| agenda| minutes
February 17 – notice | agenda | minutes August 18 – no meeting
March 17 – notice | agenda | minutes September 22* – notice | agenda | minutes
April 21 – notice | agenda| minutes October 20 – notice | agenda | minutes
May 19 – notice| agenda | minutes November 17 – notice | agenda | minutes
June 16 – notice | agenda| minutes December 15 – notice | agenda | minutes

*Fourth Wednesday

Meeting agenda will be posted at least 48-hours in advance of the meeting.

April 15 – Special Meeting – notice | agenda | minutes| meeting access
May 27 – Emergency Meeting – notice | agenda | minutes| meeting access


2020 Meetings

January 15
June 17 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes
February 11 (Emergency Meeting)
notice, minutes
July 15
February 19
notice, minutes
July 22 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes
March 13 (Emergency Meeting)
notice, minutes
August 19
March 18
September 16 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes
April 22
October 21 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes
May 6 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes
November 18 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes
December 16 @ 5 p.m.
notice, minutes

Minutes of prior meetings are available in the library’s Administration Office. Contact Karen Rackley, 609-924-9529, ext. 1250, or krackley@princetonlibrary.org

OPRA Request Form